FAQs

What is the difference between a free membership and a premium membership?

A free membership allows you to register, post your profile, post a photo, search, and view all profiles. But, you can’t communicate with other members unless you upgrade to a premium membership. You can receive virtual gifts or winks and email messages from premium members, but you can not reciprocate without upgrading to a premium membership.

A premium membership allows you to register, post your profile, post multiple photos depending on the package purchased, search and view all profiles, send and receive personal email messages with other members, interact with other premium members privately via the live chat, and send virtual gifts or winks to other members. Premium members can send email messages and virtual gifts to a member with a free membership, but the free member cannot reciprocate without upgrading to a premium membership.

What’s the free trial period for a premium membership?

Everyone who registers for a free membership gets a free trial period in the premium membership beginning the day you register. During the free trial period, your free membership will provide all the benefits of a premium membership with a limit on the number of emails and gifts that can be sent, as detailed at the top of your My Membership page. The length of the free trial period being offered when you sign up will be displayed on the Register form directly below the register button.

How do I get a free membership?

You register for an account.

How do I contact other members?

Premium members will have access to a private email messaging system within Canary Singles where they can send and receive messages to and from other members and you may communicate with other premium members using the Live Chat. You must upgrade your account to a premium membership to contact members via email, live chat, or virtual gifts.

How do I search for someone who is a different gender than the gender that is set in my profile preferences?

The system is set up to return searches that match whatever gender preference is set in your My Profile. So, if you are a woman seeking a man, and that is what you have set in your profile preference on your My Profile page, then the system will only return searches that fulfill those criteria. If you would like to search for someone of a different gender, then you would need to temporarily change your gender preference in My Profile. Once you are done performing that search, then you can set it back to your primary gender preference.

How do I upgrade to a premium membership?

You must first Register. Then post a profile. Click the My Profile button. On your profile page, at the bottom, you will see the premium packages that are available.

How much does a premium membership cost?

A premium membership may be purchased at a one-time fee of $9.99 for a month, or $19.99 for three months, or $29.99 for 6 months, or $49.99 for one year. These are one time fees. They do not auto-renew. If you want to renew, you will need to do so manually once your membership is about to expire. This can be done on your profile page.

Each of the four packages comes with different features. To see the features that come with each package, go to My Profile and click on My Membership. Each of the packages and the features they contain is listed.

What payment methods do you accept?

We process your payment using Paypal. Paypal allows you to pay using either your credit/debit card or you can pay with your personal Paypal account.

What countries can participate at Canary Singles?

All countries are welcome to participate.

Are you open to gay, lesbian, bi and transgender members?

Yes, all sexual orientations are welcome.

How do I update my profile?

To update your profile, click on the My Profile button in the navigation bar at the top of the site. Click the save button at the bottom of the page.

How do I use live chat, email messaging, or send virtual gifts?

Directly underneath each person’s profile photo that you view, you will see four icons: a favorites, an email, a live chat, and virtual gift option. Simply go to the person’s profile that you wish to communicate with and click on the icon directly under their photo for whichever action you choose to use.

Where and what is the online status indicator?

The online status indicator is a little button to the left of each member’s profile. It is gray when they are not logged in and it is yellow when they are logged in.

Why can’t I see my own profile in the profiles database?

The system is set up in a manner that your profile is not visible to you in the Profiles area when you are logged into your account. You are only able to see your profile in the My Profile area. However, it is viewable to everyone else in the profiles area. Simply sign out of your account by clicking on the Sign Out button at the top right-hand corner of the page, next to the My Profile button, and view the profiles as a guest and then you will see it is there and be able to view it as everyone else sees it.

How can I change my password?

When you are logged in, go to My Profile click on My Settings in the nav menu on the left-hand side of your page. Fill in the required fields for a new password in the area indicated and save changes.

How do I change my privacy settings?

When you are logged in, go to My Profile, then on left-hand side click on My Settings. Here you can choose when you get email notifications and who can see what.

Favorites, virtual gifts, and photos can be set to be seen by everyone, nobody, or your favorites only.

Be sure to click the save changes button when finished.

Where do I find my email messages sent from members?

When you are logged in, go to My Profile, then on left-hand side click on My Messages.

How do I know when my membership package expires?

Go to My Profile, click on My Membership. Your membership date will be displayed. If you have a free membership, it does not expire. However, if you were given a free trial to the premium membership with your free membership, your ability to send email messages and virtual gifts will disappear at the end of your free trial, and this date will not be displayed. It will be 30 days from the day you signed up.

Why don’t I see all the cities in the search form?

A city only shows up in the search form if a member has joined from a particular country or city. So, if a particular city is not one of the choices in the search form, it is only because we don’t have any members from that area yet. Once a member from that city joins, it will show up in the search form. All countries are welcome. Also, you must choose a country before cities will display.

Who the heck is behind Canary Singles?

Canary Singles is part of the Cynthia Perkins Publications & Consultations Network. This name will appear at the bottom of your bill if you purchase a premium membership.